A Walk to Remember.

Sayyidina Rasulullah Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam said: “Make Ziyaarat(visits) of the graveyard, for verily, visiting the graves diminishes the love of this world and makes one remember the Aakhirat.”

In order to achieve this purpose which is explained in the above Hadith, it is best that you visit the cemetery alone.

I must say that I have never visit the cemetery alone. What more at midnight.

Yes, you read it correctly. Me, walking around the premises of the Cemetery at midnight, alone.

I never thought I would ever do it or even think about doing it. But, we were all surprised by the seniors, that we each had to do a solo night walk into the cemetery at midnight in darkness with no torch whatsoever in a recent camp I participated.

The objective was to test our Imaan and Taqwa, reflect on the condition of the dead, and an opportunity to self-reflect. Like those  inmates of the graves, one day we too will be lying there buried under sand. Insyallah. There’s no way around it.

Masyallah! I would put the entire experience to shame if I were to try pen it down here. But, if you’d like to give a little jolt to your Imaan, then I must say that you should try this. There is nothing to fear except for Allah, He who createth the heavens and the earth, and all creatures in it.

All that I have to say is that all praise be due to Allah for giving me the courage to go through that awesome nightwalk, safely. Alhamdulillah.

Indeed there was Hikmah for me to attend that camp which I was doubtful before.

Life is Awesome!

About lyemoon.

I would like to travel the world and journey the footsteps of Ibn Battuta. I would like to be a zookeeper and tame the lions. I would like to sit at the edge of a cliff and bask in the sun. I would like to drink tea and read a book. I would like to sit and dream all day long.

Leave a Reply

