Accepting an Invitation.

I did not know how it happen, but as I grow up, I suddenly find myself with several social circles and a large number of acquaintances.

I must say that I am fairly a sociable person, but I find it hard to accept an invitation by an acquaintance with whom I got no other mutual friends with. There will be an onset feeling of laziness that would engulf me all of a sudden!

Maybe it was the idea of having to go there on my own, with no girlfriends to discuss what matching hijab to wear. And then having to eat alone. And what if I were to choke on my food and no one took notice, I’d die alone! GASP!

That thought was running through my head as I contemplate over an invitation. An iftar over at one of my closest teacher’s house tonight. She taught me when I was eleven. Now I am TWENTY ONE. So you go do your maths.  Over the past Ramadhaan, I have always decline it, coming up with lame reasons… But this Ramadhaan, I found this:

Prophet Muhd S.A.W said:
“If anyone of you is invited to partake of meals, he should at least accept the invitation. Thereafter he may partake of it if he desires or he may totally abstain from it.” [Muslim]

No excuse will be entertained in declining an invitation. However, if wine and other intoxicants are provided at the invitation or food will be eaten out of gold and silver utensils or there is a fear of any other evil, one should on no account accept the invitation.

I reckon she wouldn’t be serving intoxicants for iftar, and neither would we be eating out of gold and silver utensils, and it’s Ramadhaan therefore evilness would have to wait. Thus, I cannot decline it.

Alright, jokes aside, truly, this hadith knocked a little bit of sense into my head. The concept of Ukhuwwah is the essence of Islam. What more in this blessed month of Ramadhaan. And as a Muslim, I have an obligation in accepting this invitation for the love of Allah SWT and my fellow ummah. An ‘Ibadaah which I have declined all this while.

Astaghfirullah. May Allah forgive me for my ignorance.

And praise be upon Him for guiding me this Ramadhaan.

Life is Awesome!

Tags: , ,

About lyemoon.

I would like to travel the world and journey the footsteps of Ibn Battuta. I would like to be a zookeeper and tame the lions. I would like to sit at the edge of a cliff and bask in the sun. I would like to drink tea and read a book. I would like to sit and dream all day long.

2 responses to “Accepting an Invitation.”

  1. Mobeen says :

    In the end you have taken right decision, Nothing is useless or waste in our religion. Whatever told to us by the Almighty via Quran and by our beloved prophet (PBUM), it has something to do with our life, which is surely for our welfare. Accepting others invitation and joining him/her for the sake of Goodwill is responsible for Joining two hearts and removing any bad occurrences /misconceptions of past.

    ~ * ~

Leave a Reply

