Guidance.

Taken with a Holga 135BC with red filter flash. Oct 2010.

Growing up, I was taught how to read the Qur’an, pray 5 times a day, and fast in the month of Ramadhaan. And that was it.

I spent my teenage years largely with Non-Muslims, tooting my time away with the bass clarinet/saxophone, lost in the enchantments of the world of classical music.

At the age of 17, my days were surrounded by an Anglican environment, more music, friends who gulp down on liquor as if they were tap water and hunky half-dressed rugby boys on the field.

Looking back, I could only thank Allah for giving me the strength to still be a faithful Muslim. Although not yet a devout one at that time. In fact, it was that very Anglican environment that made me search Islam and have since been on that journey of re-discovery.

And over the past 5 years, in my journey of re-discovering the Islam in me, I learnt the deeper meaning to the 5 pillars of Islam. And one of the essence of Islam that I learnt was ‘Brotherhood’.

Boy! Am I lucky! Allah gave me beautiful brothers and sisters to continuously give me the strength whilst on this road. 5 years ago I would never have imagine myself conducting activities for youths in the mosque during Ramadhaan. But these brothers and sisters were my witness. Masyallah.

I must admit, that they journey wasn’t easy. But, these wonderful bunch of brothers and sisters have coloured my path. May Allah always be with us and give us constant guidance. And may this brotherhood – or sisterhood, whatever – continue to last. And may our past and future da’awaah activities be solely for You, Ya Rabb!

Life is Awesome!

Tags: , , , ,

About lyemoon.

I would like to travel the world and journey the footsteps of Ibn Battuta. I would like to be a zookeeper and tame the lions. I would like to sit at the edge of a cliff and bask in the sun. I would like to drink tea and read a book. I would like to sit and dream all day long.

2 responses to “Guidance.”

  1. Tim says :

    Alhamdulilah for guidance.

Leave a Reply

