Jama’ah.

Yahya related to me from Malik from Nafi’ from ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Umar that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Prayer in a group is twenty-seven times better than the prayer of a man by himself.”

[cf Bukhari 619]

I have always envy the bonds that the ikhwah share when it comes to prayers. When I see them doing their obligations at the staircase of the school or anywhere else, they would automatically do it in jama’ah when another brother comes.

Not the same for the akhawaat I must say. We would pray together, side by side, but not in jama’ah. Once in school, I tapped the right shoulder of a sister to join her prayers, she jumped and nulled her prayers. It’s just not in the culture I guess. Or perhaps the akhawaat have no idea how to be an imaam to another ukht.

It’s rather sad. The only times I would do a jama’ah with a group of akhawaat would be when I’m with my beloved usrah sisters. Barakallahu feehum.

So I tried to cultivate this habit with my girlfriends. And yesterday, when the 3 of us performed Dzuhr and ‘Asr as a jama’ah, it was simply magical. This is the kind of friendship I want. Akhawaat lillah wa akhawaat fillah. 

Subhanallah. May Allah give me and girlfriends constant guidance and strength to lead each other towards Jannah.

 

Life is Awesome!

About lyemoon.

I would like to travel the world and journey the footsteps of Ibn Battuta. I would like to be a zookeeper and tame the lions. I would like to sit at the edge of a cliff and bask in the sun. I would like to drink tea and read a book. I would like to sit and dream all day long.

2 responses to “Jama’ah.”

  1. ovenhaven says :

    I know exactly what you mean. A similar incident happened back in my varsity days; it was the exam period, and a bunch of us were waiting for the azan, but when the prayer call came and I suggested jama’ah, some either ignored or just shrugged, and quickly dispersed to solat on their own. Perhaps it’s just not the culture.

    Oh btw, thanks for dropping by my site 🙂

    • lyemoon. says :

      Uh-huh! Let’s start this culture with the ones close to you first! Then let others see, and insyallah, join in 😀

      Ouh! YOUR BLOG IS AWESOME!

      Hehe 😀

Leave a Reply

