Ilal Liqa’ Ya Ramadhan.

Ramadhan 2010. Masjid Alkaff. Singapore.

As the opening of “The Tale of Two Cities” goes… It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. And so what was taught to us in Surah Al-Insyirah.

“But Lo! With Hardship goeth ease,
Lo! With hardship goeth ease.”

Qur’an 94: 5,6

About a month back, right before Ramadhan, I was pressurized by so many commitments. Commitments that I had assumed either intentionally or accidentally. Either way, I believed I was chosen for it.

I struggled a little, but I thought there’s nothing I could not manage. Along came Ramadhan and a bombshell was dropped upon me. Being me, I did not seek help. I decided to swallow the bitter pill all by myself and tried hard to smile. The first few days of Ramadhan was spent crying. Cried myself silly. Cut myself off from my girlfriends. Astaghfirullah.

It took me some time to pull myself together. It was not easy.

But Ramadhan was my solace. Teraweeh was my solace. The Qur’an was my solace.

I took this month to re-define the meaning of patience and gratitude. And never had I ever been so close to the Qur’an. Syukrulillah wal Hamdulillah!

It is  said that, “The intelligent person is not he who is able to increase his profits, but he who transforms his losses into profits.”

“There did Allah give you one distress after another by way of requital to teach you not to grieve for that which had escaped you.”

Qur’an 3:153

This Ramadhan taught me something new. I learnt that things that are over and finished with should not be dwelt upon, since doing so leads only to further anxiety, worry and wastage of time.

“And my affair I leave it to Allah.”

Qur’an 40:44

Furthermore, what I am going through at this time is probably nothing as compared to the people of Somalia and the children of Palestine. My du’as for them. May Allah bless and protect them.

Now my heart is filled with a tinge of sadness to leave this blessed month. As I did my last teraweeh of Ramadhan I wondered whether I had done enough to be blessed with His Mercy this Ramadhan & Laylat’ul Qadr? Will I live long enough to meet the next Ramadhan?

“Let the days bring what they may,
And be contented when a decree has come to pass,
When the execution of it comes in a land of some nation,
Neither earth nor sky can prevent it.”

Imam Ash-Shafi’ee

However, in our mourning of the passing of Ramadhan, let us remember to worship not because of Ramadhan – for it is only a creation of God – but worship for the sake of God – who created Ramadhan. May we continue the good habits that we have started out this Ramadhan till the next Ramadhan. Insyallah.

Life is Awesome!

 

About lyemoon.

I would like to travel the world and journey the footsteps of Ibn Battuta. I would like to be a zookeeper and tame the lions. I would like to sit at the edge of a cliff and bask in the sun. I would like to drink tea and read a book. I would like to sit and dream all day long.

Leave a Reply

