Ain’t No Mountain High.

Breakfast in the clouds. Mount Stong, Dabong, Kelantan, Malaysia. 2012.

Mountain climbing teaches one to truly appreciate the meaning of life. Its purpose is not to conquer the mountain itself, but it’s about conquering the self.

Also, one of the many invaluable lessons that I learnt from mountain climbing is on making the most of the landscape around you. Naturally for many, the main objective of mountain climbing is to reach the top, and I must say, that the experience when you reach the summit is oh, so, awesome! What was once only a dream, a distant vision, is now part of your life. However, as you climb, the view changes, and there is nothing wrong with stopping and then to enjoy the vista.

With each metre you climb, you can see a little further. So take time to discover things you have never noticed before!  Feel the breeze! Listen to the rustling leaves! Smell the morning dew! Recite Surah Ar-Rahman and ask yourselves, “Which is it, of the favours of  your Lord, do you deny?”

I am terribly itching to climb another mountain. Somehow, I wished this passion was ignited earlier or that I have more means to go round the world to mountain trek often. Nevertheless, Mount Tahan next, anyone?

Life is Awesome!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About lyemoon.

I would like to travel the world and journey the footsteps of Ibn Battuta. I would like to be a zookeeper and tame the lions. I would like to sit at the edge of a cliff and bask in the sun. I would like to drink tea and read a book. I would like to sit and dream all day long.

4 responses to “Ain’t No Mountain High.”

  1. The Landy says :

    Your first line is so true! I can relate to it very well….

    • lyemoon. says :

      Many of my friends could not quite relate why we, mountaineers, would put ourselves out of our comfort zone, into the wilderness of nature.

      Glad you do!
      And it’s so nice to visit your awesome blog. I wish I have the time and money to do half the things you do! I visit Australia often, maybe one day I could join you in one of your adventures 😀

      • The Landy says :

        We are so lucky to have such a great country to explore,

        • lyemoon. says :

          Tell me about it! I’ve only manged to explore WA, as I have families residing in Perth, and I’m completely blown away by the beautiful nature sites. Especially in love with Torndirrup National Park 😀

          We don’t get such amazing sea view here in Singapore. They are all reclaimed land 😦

Leave a Reply

